SB Review: Brimblecombe, Dulverton

I discovered Brimblecombe in Dulverton this past Saturday, although I was recommended it by a friend from work. It is one of those shops which immediately appealed to me and which my husband disliked on sight. Filled with all sorts of lovely things including Hush nightwear and Ren toiletries, I could have browsed all afternoon (had it not been that I made the mistake of going in at 3.50pm and the shop assistant wanted to leave at 4pm so badly that she had her coat on, the back room light turned off and a don’t you f**king dare buy anything expression – which was rather off putting).

“After a certain point on holiday, the female simply has to shop. We will buy almost anything. You know when you go into a room and start wilfing (short for ‘what was I looking for?’). Well, we do the same thing when we shop, only we don’t know what we’re looking for until we see it. My husband calls this ‘brimbling’, after a divine shop in Dulverton called Brimblecombe, where female friends always seem to find something they ‘need’…” Rachel Johnson in the Spectator

I found the quote above from Rachel Johnson (on the Brimblecombe website) and it sums up the shop rather aptly. The website for the shop is nothing hugely useful although there are some appealing photographs. I was particularly amused by the reference to a blog in the profile of Jane Brimblecombe and the space at the bottom of the website which states “blog will go here” but does not link to anything. If there was a blog I would certainly have perused it, as I was rather taken with the selection of items in the shop, even if I did not feel invited to purchase by the girl behind the counter.

My husband thought it rather overpriced, which to an extent it was. The toiletries were about £1.50 – £2 more than Liberty; the pyjamas marked up by about £5 on the online prices. But there would be no postage to pay if you wanted to buy them in Exmoor as opposed to waiting until a trip to London.

I will certainly be returning, although perhaps attempting to time my trip slightly earlier in the afternoon. And I will park husband in the pub. After all, if one is Brimbling (see the Rachel Johnson quote above) one need’s one space.

Brimblecombe
17 High Street
Dulverton
Somerset
TA22 9HB

01398 3241812

10am- 5pm Monday -Saturday (closes 4pm in Winter?)

All images borrowed from the Brimblecombe website

2 responses to “SB Review: Brimblecombe, Dulverton

  1. Wilfing! Brimbling! How did I live without either of these words?!

  2. Yes, we discovered this lovely shop, too, and agree there are lots of lovely things to buy. Not so lovely owner, however, so I decided to vote with my feet and left without buying a thing…..

Leave a Reply

